Raw Bytes

Computer News

 

KPBX FM 91.1

 

Spokane Public

Radio

 

National Public

Radio Network

 

Frank Delaney

Producer

 

Broadcast on

Wednesday Morning

7:35 AM During

Morning Edition

 

Support

Public Radio !

 

The Theater

Of the Mind

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In computer news this week 05/17 /2007

 

The current internet scam comes though the US mail –  again

 

Attention website owners – you probably protect yourself when you’re on the internet. You  probably use an internet security program, which includes antivirus, antispyware, and antiadware functions. You probably know about scams like online Phishing, so you don’t reply to phony emails asking you to verify your current credit card information. You probably have your own computers, you rnetwork and your website protected with firewalls and security systems against hackers. So as you look to the internet, you feel very good about your protection from scams.

 

But at this time, there’s an internet scam coming in through a door you’re not watching – your US mailbox, and it comes in the form of a letter from a company called ICLS.net, and last year it was a company called Listingcorp.com.

 

Both these companies  call themselves Website Listing Services, and they show your current website information, and it looks like an official bill from the company that hosts your website, with your website information.

 

The Amount you’re supposed to pay very soon is $ 35.00, and they have a list of services  supposedly you’ll get for your money.

 

You’ll get annual website search engine listing for a year. Problem is, you get this for free already, because all the search engines are probably already listing your site. If it’s on the internet, it’s listed.

 

Supposedly the subscription includes domain name submission to 14 major search engines. Problem is, you can do this yourself for fee, and it’s already done if you have a web site.

 

And there’s a note of urgency giving you less than a month to pay this bill, to avoid missing being listed.

 

This whole thing is an internet scam, which takes advantage of website owners who aren’t familiar with their website registration. Probably the majority of website owners would look at this letter and pay the bill, fearing they might lose their listing on the internet.

 

These companies prey both on internet literacy – the website owner’s knowledge that they have a website and need to have it accessible on the internet – and  prey  on internet illiteracy – the fact that most website owners know very little about website registration and hosting, and things like website expiration. And the fact that they keep sending these solicitations means they’re making a lot of money off them.

 

It’s only when you read this letter closely – then you might notice a slightly buried notice that says “This is not a bill – this is a solicitation – you are under no obligation to pay the amount stated above unless you accept this offer.

 

They also want your email address, so that they can probably sell that to spammers too.

 

So how can these companies  get the name of your website, and your name and mailing address, and send you something that looks like an urgent bill coming from a legitimate company that seems to know everything about you and your website?

 

This is because most website information is public record and free to access. Anyone can go to network solutions.com – and click on the whois selection- enter  kpbx.org – and all the information on the KPBX website comes up:

 

 Registrant: Make this info private   

KPBX - Spokane Public Radio    

2319 N. Monroe St.    Spokane, WA 99205    US       

Domain Name: KPBX.ORG     

Administrative Contact :      Kunkel, Richard   

rkunkel@KPBX.ORG   

2319 N. Monroe St.   

Spokane, WA 99205   

US   

Phone: (509) 328-5729   

Fax: 999 999 9999       

Technical Contact :      Hostmaster, Primary    hostmaster@ARGIA.NET   

219 E Augusta   

SPOKANE, WA 99207    US   

Phone: (509)326-7555    Fax: (509)326-7598       

Record expires on 26-May-2006   

Record created on 06-Sep-2002   

Database last updated on 07-Jul-2004     

Domain servers in listed order:

Manage DNS     

NS4.ARGIA.NET 209.168.125.3     

NS5.ARGIA.NET 209.168.126.3  

 

 

Then a company can  send a letter to  millions of website owners - showing a lot of correct information about their website – and ask for a $ 35.00 payment for some nebulous services, and make it look like  it’s urgent and you’ll lose your website listing if you don’t pay it.

 

And now  you , if you have the inclination, can throw this letter in the trash, where it belongs. But make a note of it, because you’ll be getting this and other phony soliciations in the future. It’s all part of the internet scam game.

 

See a sample of the ICLS.net letter  Currently being sent to Spokane area businesses

 

ICLS.net Website contact information – notice the address is in the Bahamas

 

 

See the Listingcorp.com letter and more information This was sent last year

 

If you have received either of these letters you can complain to your local Better Business Bureau:

 

Spokane Better Business Bureau

 

 

 

 

For Raw Bytes

This is Frank Delaney

(C) 2007 MTA Micro Technology Associates

http://www.mtamicro.com/kpbx.html

PO Box 31522  Spokane, Wa 99223-1522

(509)624-7230

mailto:frank@mtamicro.com