|
Raw Bytes Computer News KPBX FM 91.1 Radio National Public Radio Network Frank Delaney Producer Broadcast on Wednesday Morning 7:35 AM During Morning Edition Support Public Radio ! The Theater Of the Mind |
In computer news this week 3/07
/2007 |
|
|
The current internet scam comes
though the US mail – Maybe
March is Scam Month Attention
website owners – you probably protect yourself when you’re on the
internet. You
probably use an internet security program, which includes
antivirus, antispyware, and antiadware
functions. You probably know about scams like online Phishing, so you
don’t reply to phony emails asking you to verify your current credit
card information. You probably have your own computers, you rnetwork and your website protected with firewalls and
security systems against hackers. So as you look to the internet, you feel
very good about your protection from scams. But at
this time, there’s an internet scam coming in through a door
you’re not watching – your US mailbox, and it comes in the form
of a letter from a company called ICLS.net,
and last year it was a company called Listingcorp.com. Both
these companies
call themselves Website Listing Services, and they show your
current website information, and it looks like an official bill from the
company that hosts your website, with your website information. The
Amount you’re supposed to pay very soon is $ 35.00, and they have a
list of services
supposedly you’ll get for your money. You’ll
get annual website search engine listing for a year. Problem is, you get this for free already, because all the search
engines are probably already listing your site. If it’s on the
internet, it’s listed. Supposedly
the subscription includes domain name submission to 20 major search engines.
Problem is, you can do this yourself for fee, and it’s already done if
you have a web site. And
there’s a note of urgency giving you less than a month to pay this
bill, to avoid missing being listed. This
whole thing is an internet scam, which takes advantage of website owners who
aren’t familiar with their website registration. Probably the majority
of website owners would look at this letter and pay the bill, fearing they
might lose their listing on the internet. These
companies prey both on internet literacy – the website
owner’s knowledge that they have a website and need to have it
accessible on the internet – and prey on internet illiteracy – the
fact that most website owners know very little about website registration and
hosting, and things like website expiration. It’s
only when you read this letter closely – then you might notice a
slightly buried notice that says “This is not a bill – this
is a solicitation – you are under no obligation to pay the amount
stated above unless you accept this offer. They also
want your email address, so that they can probably sell that to spammers too. So how
can these companies
get the name of your website, and your name and mailing
address, and send you something that looks like an urgent bill coming from a
legitimate company that seems to know everything about you and your website? This is
because most website information is public record and free to access. Anyone
can go to network solutions.com – and click on the whois
selection- enter kpbx.org –
and all the information on the KPBX website comes up: Registrant: Make
this info private KPBX -
Spokane Public Radio 2319 N.
Monroe St. Spokane, WA 99205 US
Domain
Name:
KPBX.ORG Administrative
Contact :
Kunkel, Richard rkunkel@KPBX.ORG
2319 N.
Monroe St. Spokane,
WA 99205 US
Phone:
(509) 328-5729 Fax: 999 999 9999 Technical
Contact :
Hostmaster, Primary
hostmaster@ARGIA.NET 219 E
Augusta SPOKANE,
WA 99207 US Phone:
(509)326-7555 Fax: (509)326-7598
Record
expires on
26-May-2006 Record
created on
06-Sep-2002 Database
last updated on 07-Jul-2004 Domain
servers in listed order: Then a
company can send a letter to millions of website owners - showing a
lot of correct information about their website – and ask for a $ 35.00
payment for some nebulous services, and make it look like it’s urgent and you’ll
lose your website listing if you don’t pay it. And now you , if
you have the inclination, can throw this letter in the trash, where it
belongs. But make a note of it, because you’ll be getting this and
other phony soliciations in the future. It’s
all part of the internet scam game. See a sample of
the ICLS.net letter Currently
being sent to Spokane area businesses See the Listingcorp.com letter and
more information This was sent last year If you
have received either of these letters you can complain to your local Better
Business Bureau: Spokane Better Business Bureau For Raw Bytes This is Frank Delaney (C) 2007 MTA Micro
Technology Associates http://www.mtamicro.com/kpbx.html PO Box 31522 Spokane, Wa 99223-1522 (509)624-7230 |
|